(Founding of CCRD Branches)

The College of Community Resources Development (CCRD) is the umbrella College of the extramural studies centers (ESCs) and extension campuses which are located in sixteen (16) municipalities throughout the Province of Palawan and one (1) in the City of Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Spread in the province are the municipalities namely: Roxas, Cuyo, Taytay, Coron, Araceli, El Nido, Magsaysay, Dumaran and Linapacan in northern Palawan and Brooke’s Point, Quezon, Narra, Bataraza, Sofronio Española, Balabac, and Rizal in southern Palawan. The ESC campus in Puerto Princesa City is located in Barangay San Rafael which is 63 kilometers away from the city proper. The establishment of these centers was in response to the overwhelming requests from people in the far-flung municipalities of the Province, especially in the island municipalities for the Palawan State University to provide access to quality and affordable education to the people in these municipalities who could not enrol in the University’s main campus at Puerto Princesa City.

The extramural studies centers in the various municipalities were individually and separately established through the signing of memoranda of agreement between the University and the local government of the host municipality.

The terms and considerations stipulated in the MOA usually include the following: The University shall provide the administration and supervision of the centers and take care of the recruitment of qualified faculty and staff to serve in the centers. The host municipality provides the school site, school plant including classroom furniture, textbooks/library books, instructional materials, and more importantly, the salaries of the faculty and staff until such time that the national government will be able to provide funds for the same.

Parents–Teachers Councils (PTCs) are also formed in each of the centers. The PTCs to collect from the students certain special assessment fees (SAF) and additional special assessment fees (ASAF) for library books and other purposes deemed necessary and proper by the PTC Board of Directors for the effective and efficient operation of the centers. They were highly participative in the program implementation and operation-related undertakings of the campus.

On the other hand, the Student Government Organizations (SGO) also takes an active role in addressing the several needs of the students that are not readily provided by either the campus or the Parents-Teachers’ Council (PTC).

The ESCs emerged from the Development Schools which were initiated in 1978 by Dr. Walfrido R. Ponce de Leon, founding President of Palawan Teachers college which later evolved into Palawan State University. The first Development School was established at Barangay San Jose in Puerto Princesa in 1978, followed by those in Aborlan and Quezon in 1982, and later in Marcos Municipality (now known as Rizal) in 1984. The Development Schools, which offered mainly secondary education, were subsequently weaned from PSU with the implementation of the law on free secondary education.

The first ESC was established in 1984 in Roxas, Palawan, followed by the ESC at Cuyo in 1985. Both were created during the term of Dr. Ponce de Leon. Under the dynamic leadership of Dr. Teresita L. Salva as University President, the CCRD rapidly expanded in the last five (5) years to its present number of fourteen (14) campuses supported largely by local leaders and residents functioning at the same time as an innovative factor in livelihood enhancement and sustainable development.

Besides the municipal leaders and Sangguniang Bayan members who were instrumental in initiating the establishment of the ESCs, the following contributed immensely to the continuing transformation of the ESCs into institutions of quality tertiary and graduate education coupled with sustainable development: Congressman Abraham Kahlil B. Mitra of Palawan’s second congressional district. Congressman Antonio C. Alvarez of Palawan’s first district, former House Speaker Ramon V. Mitra Sr., former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives Alfredo E. Abueg, Jr., former Congressman Vicente “Brown” Sandoval, former Congressman and now Provincial Vice Governor David A. Ponce de Leon, former Minister of Natural Resources Atty. Teodoro Q. Peña, Governor Joel T. Reyes, and former Palawan Governor Salvador P. Socrates as well as the past and present members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Palawan.

To ensure that the quality of education in the centers does not suffer because of the built-in constraints of having to maintain various centers throughout the Province, the central administration of the University has embarked on an aggressive faculty development program, regular review of curricula to ensure innovativeness and relevance, and continuous improvement of instructional facilities. Also faculty members from the main campus who have competence and expertise in the course offerings and/or specializations in the ESCs are, from time to time, assigned to teach in the centers to beef up the faculty complement in the centers.

The central administration of the University has also ensured that the Dean of the CCRD and Directors of the various centers have the necessary management and leadership skills and the ability to deal with various groups of persons and individuals, in order to effectively and efficiently implement the programs and other academic–related undertakings of the University campus.

In the year 2000 the former Palawan College of Arts and Trade (PCAT) was integrated to Palawan State University under the administrative jurisdiction of the Dean of the College of Community Resources Development (CCRD) in accordance with the pertinent provisions of Republic Act (RA) No. 7722, otherwise known as the Higher Education Act of 1994 and Republic Act No. 8292, otherwise known as the Higher Education Modernization Act of 1997 and pursuant to special provisions No. 2 of the CHED FY 2000 Budget under the General Appropriations Act of 1999 or RA 8745 on the integration of CHED Supervised Institutions (CSIs) to State Universities and Colleges (SUCs).

The CCRD has indeed come along way since its humble beginnings inspite of the very limited resources available to the ESCs and extension campuses. Consistent with its mission and that of the University, the CCRD continues to serve the Palaweńos by being responsive to the needs of the communities where the extramural studies centers are based and in producing globally competitive graduates who are morally upright, humane and prime movers of development in their respective disciplines as well as productive and model citizens in their communities.